Musical Memories – Me, My Mum and Kenny Rogers

This second instalment of Musical Memories takes me back to 1989. I have downloaded this song (well the whole album actually) due to my love of this music which is entirely borne out due to my mother’s influence. So, whenever I hear this particular song I am transported back to the living room of an old house of ours in Colchester. I was four years old and my dad would take my older siblings to their clubs or shopping etc. which would leave me some precious alone time with my mum.

It was during these snatched moments that mum would put her cassette tape on. It was either Kenny Rogers or Dr Hook – who I equally like too due to dear mum! – for those who don’t know Dr Hook, I have included a popular song of theirs too!).

It is so vivid in my mind that either one of these songs actually causes me to feel like I’m standing in the doorway watching myself and mum dance. She used to lift me up and I would cling to her hip as we waved my dad and my siblings goodbye. Then mum would put the tape on and we would move the coffee table out of the way. I remember the coffee table being a heavy, thick-legged thing which I could never move on my own. Mum would be wearing a long flowing skirt which went down to the floor. I loved those skirts, I used to enjoy sitting on the floor and pretend to hide behind the colourful swathes of cloth as it enveloped me whilst mum was vacuuming.

Anyway, back to 1989….I would hold my mum’s hands and we would move around the living room. Mum would sing along and I would try to keep up. I never knew all the words but some would stick out enough for me to feel like I was singing it with them. On this particular day I am wearing a white vest and short set which is covered in dark blue polka dots. Mum is wearing a gold coloured skirt and a black top. We would dance until the tape ended than sit together in the sofa until it was my bath time. I would be constantly chattering away at my mum asking her about everything and anything. Asking why, when, how and what; mum would answer everything with the patience of a saint.

I would then be bathed (in case you’re wondering it was Matey Bubble Bath all the way in my household and if I could get away with it now I would still use it!). After the usual bath time activities, which would entail me asking mum even more questions which would involve asking what water was, what’s in Matey? why do we have sponges, what’s a flannel etc. etc. I would then be placed in my favourite nightdress which had a bunny rabbit on it. Downstairs we would go, mum would brush and plait my hair ready for bed, but before than….Side B of Kenny Rogers would be played.

Leave a Reply

